10 Bands to see on Saturday at T In The Park 2013

My list of the best bands playing on Saturday 13th July at T In The Park. The list is broken down in descending order of stage size with my own plan at the bottom of the page.

The Lumineers – Main Stage

A lot of people will view The Lumineers as one-hit wonders because of ‘Ho Hey’. However, they actually put out a good debut album this year which shows their is much more to them than that overplayed song. I will definitely be seeing them this year although I can imagine their crowd being pull of people just waiting for that song.

Key songs: Big Parade, Flowers In Your Hair, Ho Hey

The View – Main Stage

Hardly the most original booking consider The View play T In The Park literally even year, even last year when they weren’t contractually allowed to and played under a false name. But nonetheless they’re one of Scotland’s best bands and always put on a great show. Despite their regular appearances I would still say definitely go and see them, you won’t be disappointed. The crowd alone will make it pretty wild.

Key songs: Shock Horror, Superstar Tradesman, Sunday

The Fratellis – Main Stage

Another one of Scotland’s best bands. Frontman Jon Fratelli is a bit of a genius in my eyes. The Fratellis don’t necessarily showcase the very best of his songwriting talents but they’re a great band who’ll start the party early on Saturday morning. The singalong for ‘Chelsea Dagger’ should be massive. It should be part of T In The Park law that Jon Fratelli gets booked in some form every year. If you’re a fan of The Fratellis check out the unbelievable Codeine Velvet Club and Jon’s solo work.

Key songs:

Chelsea Dagger, Whistle For The Choir, A Heady Tale

Beady Eye – Radio 1 Stage

There’s your Saturday night headliner sorted! I was concerned with Rihanna headlining the Main Stage and rumours of David Guetta headlining Radio 1 but luckily its Liam Gallagher’s Beady Eye instead. The band recently brought out a very good album in ‘BE’ which added to their debut album would provide them with enough songs for a good set. But on top of this they’re playing Oasis tunes ‘Rock ‘N’ Roll Star’ and ‘Morning Glory’ live. This makes their set unmissable for me, these will both be contenders for song of the weekend.

Key songs: Rock ‘N’ Roll Star, Morning Glory, Flick Of The Finger

Noah And The Whale – Radio 1 Stage

Part 1/3 of the worst clash of the weekend for me. I saw Noah And The Whale twice last year and for a sunny day I would say they’re basically a perfect band for it. With four albums now, their setlist is brilliant and they’ll have lovely big singalongs. However, in the middle of such a clash the fact that I’ll  be seeing them with Vampire Weekend in November might push me to see one of the other contenders.

Key songs: 5 Years Time, L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N., Just Me Before We Met

Alt-J – King Tut’s Wah Wah Tent

Another good alternative to Rihanna, Alt-J are a good band with a good album but they don’t really deserve a headline slot. I would have gone to see them had they been playing a lower slow but realistically Alt-J compared to Beady Eye is an easy choice for me.

Key songs: Breezeblocks, Matilda, Tesselate

Twin Atlantic – King Tut’s Wah Wah Tent

Another one of the many Scottish bands on the line up. They look a bit ridiculous sitting above Travis on the line up but they should still put on a good show. Having been a little dwarfed by the Main Stage last year they return to a tent this year, which I’m reliably informed they’ll be a whole level up. A good bit of proper rock music before Beady Eye.

Key songs: Yes, I Was Drunk, Make A Beast Of Myself, Free

Travis – King Tut’s Wah Wah Tent

Travis being only third top in King Tut’s is possibly the most ridiculous placement on the line up. Baring in mind they have previously headlined T In the Park and are playing below two one-album bands. They should have at least headlined King Tut’s or. even better, played high on an outdoor stage. Even so, they’re one of the bands I’m most looking forward to seeing all weekend having never them before. They have a back pocket full of hits and could generate some of the best crowd singalongs of the weekend.

Key songs: Flowers In The Window, Why Does It Always Rain On Me?, Driftwood

Miles Kane – King Tut’s Wah Wah Tent

Part 2/3 of the worst clash of the weekend. When I first saw Miles Kane at Leeds Festival 2011 I wasn’t too fussed, judging him as decent but nothing special. When I saw him at T In The Park 2012 I thought he was brilliant. I’d expect more of the latter this year. I’ve become a big Miles Kane in the last couple of years and his new album ‘Don’t Forget Who You Are’ is another bunch of really good songs.

Key songs: Come Closer, Colour Of The Trap, Taking Over

Willy Mason – Transmissions Stage

Part 3/3 of the worst clash of the weekend. Not too many people here know Willy Mason but he’s a brilliant singer-songwriter from the USA. I saw him at King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut in Glasgow last December and thought he was superb. He would be unmissable for me if it were not for my dilemna with Noah And The Whale and Miles Kane. There is also the issue that I may not get into King Tut’s to see Travis if I go see Willy Mason first. However, he is brilliant so I may just have to.

Key songs: Oxygen, We Can Be Strong, Pickup Truck

My plan:

Beady Eye

Twin Atlantic

Travis

Willy Mason/Noah And The Whale/Miles Kane

The Lumineers

The View

Deacon Blue/The Strypes

The Fratellis

Swim Deep

Leave a comment