10 Bands To See On Saturday T In The Park 2011

Coldplay

Another majestic headliner, Coldplay will be certain to put on a great show. Having seen them on TV at Glastonbury we know what we’re in store for and it’s certainly something to look forward to! They don’t come any bigger than Coldplay, T has outdone itself this year.

 

Manic Street Preachers

The best band on the Saturday and one of the best live acts about. The best band in the history of Wales will put on a great show on the Main Stage, blasting out their big hits with hopefully some of their newer songs. This one has potential to be the festival highlight.

 

The Strokes

I’ve never seen The Strokes so I’m really looking forward to this one. They’ve got a bunch of big hits so I’d say all the signs are promising for them to put on a cracking at night time on the NME Stage.

 

Jon Fratelli

Having spent a year playing with Codeine Velvet Club and making a terrific album with them, The Fratellis frontman is going for it solo bigstyle. His debut album ‘Psycho Jukebox’ is due out this month and having seen him play the songs live I can safely say it should be good. He’s always

 

Grouplove

I’ve been hooked on Grouplove since I heard their single ‘Colours’ which really is fantastic. Their album’s out later this year so I don’t know many of their songs but what I’ve heard sounds very promising. Their new single ‘Itchin’ On A Photograph’ is built is the same form as ‘Colours’. Should be a great start to the Saturday opening the King Tut’s stage.

 

Slash

One of the best guitarists in the world and with a singer who doesn’t seem like a total tool. As it happens I prefer his voice to Axl Rose’s too. Should be exciting seeing Slash play the guitar anthems he’s written.

 

Everything Everything

If you can stand their singer’s voice Everything Everything have a few great singles. Having seen them at T In The Park last year I was able to enjoy them but was glad not to have to listen to the high pitched vocals too much longer. They’re on early though so they’re worth checking out playing a short set.

 

Ocean Colour Scene

Paul Weller’s mates are bringing a long and full back catalogue to T and are sure to be a crowd pleaser with their fans. I’m not as familiar with them as I am with some of their contemporaries like Oasis but their songs definitely sound good.

 

The Saw Doctors

Yes, I have gone for a 1980’s Irish band who sound a bit like the Pogues. I only started listening to them after they got announced for T but they sound like a fun band to have a dance to at a festival. I do like a bitta Irish folk sometimes!

 

Jimmy Eat World

For some reason I never properly checked out Jimmy Eat World before this year, which is strange as they sound like a bunch of other bands I like. So I checked them out and it turns out I like them too. No idea of what they’re like live but I plan to see them at one of the festivals I’m at this summer.

Leave a comment